Home > deadlines, family, revising, writing > A Long Weekend, and a Good One

A Long Weekend, and a Good One

February 16, 2010

It has been a long time since I have posted here, but the writing is going well. I am well into the short story that I will be submitting next week. I have perhaps seven pages left to write on that story, and then I’ll need to do some heavy revision. I’m both nervous and excited to submit this piece. I won’t know the decision of the journal’s editors for three months – by which point I hope to have completed most of my novel and perhaps an additional short story.

The big news of the President’s Day weekend writing experience has been how successful I was at writing at home. It was the first weekend where I was proactive and worked with my wife to schedule in time that I would isolate myself and focus on writing for at least an hour. The kids find this very interesting. With the support of my family, I’ve been able to get in a good writing groove every day. The story is improving and I am still finding the whole experience to be very enjoyable.

I do wish that I had a completed product at this point. I was hoping to have finished the initial draft of the short story and to have spent the weekend revising. I am finding that the pace at which I write can’t be rushed. I need to allow for that and remember to build that into my scheduling in the future. As it is, I feel a bit under the gun as far as the submission deadline for the short story goes. The deadline looms.

Of course, the journalist in me functions best under the pressure of a deadline.

  1. jeff
    February 17, 2010 at 05:12

    Good on ya!
    I expect to put your name in an amazon search within 1 year and come up with 1, 2, or 3 things. Otherwise, I will be let down and have to get whatever oprah tells me to read.

    • February 17, 2010 at 09:14

      Yikes – three things on Amazon in a year! That’s a tall order. If I have even one thing published by next winter I’ll be happy. But that’s not to say I have low expectations. I am simply aware of how difficult it might be for the world to accept my coplex and revolutionary ideas.

  1. No trackbacks yet.
Comments are closed.
